The artistic heart of WP Theater (Women’s Project Theater) lies in the Lab: a two-year residency for female-identified playwrights, directors and producers. Selected through a highly competitive process, the Lab provides its members with a vital professional network, entrepreneurial and leadership training, rehearsal space, and most significantly, tangible opportunities for the development and production of bold new work for the stage.

The 2016-2018 WP Lab

Writers: Donnetta Lavinia GraysMJ Kaufman • Sylvia Khoury • Zoe Sarnak • Leah Nanako Winkler

Directors: Melissa CrespoMorgan GouldEllie HeymanTyne RafaeliMo Zhou

Producers: Roxanna BarriosSallyCade HolmesNidia MedinaLaura RamadeiYuvika Tolani

GET TO KNOW the 2016-18 WP Lab: View Bios Here

The Lab has two main goals: to cultivate the work of female-identified theater artists and to give them the tools they need to succeed in the business. In addition to developing their own unique work, Lab artists collaboratively create a culminating residency production. Past shows include WE PLAY FOR THE GODS (2012), GLOBAL COOLING (2009), CORPORATE CARNIVAL (2008), and GIRLS JUST WANNA HAVE FUND$ (2007) and THE ARCHITECTURE OF BECOMING (2014).

Under the auspices of WP, the 2008-2010 Lab Playwrights published OUT OF TIME AND PLACE, a two-volume anthology of plays, including contributions from 11 Lab Playwrights. With an introduction by Theresa Rebeck, the anthology has had great success especially in academic communities hungry for work by female-identified artists that feature strong female roles.

Having forged strong working relationships, the Lab artists continue to work together long after their official residency ends. And WP continues to advocate ferociously for its Lab alumnae by brokering agents, providing references, and submitting their work—often first developed in the Lab—to theaters around the country. Most significantly, WP puts its money where its mouth is by hiring Lab artists for main stage productions; over 75% of plays produced at WP during the past five years were written and/or directed by WP’s Lab artists and alumnae.

“To look at the list of people who’ve been through the WP Lab is to look at a Who’s Who of American Theater.” -Sarah Krohn, Director


Zakkiyah Alexander • Charity Ballard • Bekah Brunstetter • Sarah Burgess • Carla Ching • Andrea Ciannavei • Paula Cizmar • Alexis Clements • Alexandra Collier • Kara Lee Corthron • Nadia Davids • Laura Eason • Christine Evans • Catherine Filloux • Sarah Gancher • Keli Garrett • Dana Leslie Goldstein • Christina Gorman • Virginia Grise • Dipika Guha • Katori Hall • Quiara Alegria Hudes • Monet Hurst-Mendoza • Andrea Kuchlewska • Andrea Lepcio • Cheri Magid • Martyna Majok • Kara Manning • Dominique Morisseau • Megan Mostyn-Brown • Kristen Palmer • Cybele Pascal • Molly Rice • Carmen Rivera • Lynn Rosen • Sharyn Rothstein • Riti Sachdeva • Crystal Skillman • Sonya Sobieski • Susan Soon He Stanton • Peggy Stafford • Saviana Stanescu • Andrea Thome • Melisa Tien • Joy Tomasko • Kathryn Walat • Lauren Yee • Stefanie Zadravec


May Adrales • Suzanne Agins • Tea Alagic • Elena Araoz • Melia Bensussen • Shelley Butler • Adrienne Campbell-Holt • Gisela Cardenas • Heidi Carlsen • Rachel Chavkin • Marya Cohn • Lear deBessonet • Lee Sunday Evans • Linsay Firman • Gia Forakis • Lydia Fort • Susanna Gellert • Jyana S. Gregory • Jessi D. Hill • Lauren Keating • Dyana Kimball • Sarah Krohn • Pam MacKinnon • Wendy McClellan • Meredith McDonough • Lila Neugebauer • Shannon O’Donnell • Renee Philippi • Teresa K. Pond • Sarah Rasmussen • Alice Reagan • Lauren Rosen • Lisa Rothe • Mia Rovegno • Linnet Taylor • Danya Taymor • Daniella Topol • Gaye Taylor Upchurch • Kara Lynn Vaeni • Meiyin Wang • Donya K. Washington • Nicole A. Watson • Kim Weild • Lily Whitsitt • Tamilla Woodard


Diane Alianello • Heather Cohn • Jennifer Conley Darling • Aimee Davis • Elizabeth R. English • Amanda Feldman • Leigh Goldenberg • Maria Goyanes • Karen Grenke • Deadria Harrington • Pearl Hodiwala • Jane Jung • Amy Kaissar • Rachel Karpf Reidy • Maggie Lauren • Kristen Luciani • Manda Martin • Patricia McNamara • Victoria Murray Baatin • Liz Olson • Meropi Peponides • Roberta Pereira • Linda Powell • Allison Prouty • Marissa Rosenblum • Allegra Schorr • Aktina Stathaki • Rachel Sussman • Catherine Taylor Williams • Bridgette Wimberly • Stephanie Ybarra • Lanie Zipoy


Time Warner Foundation, Inc. provides leadership support of Lab artists and new play development at WP Theater.