March 3 - March 31

World Premiere

presented by WP Theater and Colt Coeur
by Rehana Lew Mirza 
directed by Adrienne Campbell-Holt 

WP Theater teams up with Colt Coeur to present the world premiere of the 2017 Kilroy List play Hatefuck. Passions ignite when Layla, an intense literature professor, accuses Imran, a brashly iconoclastic novelist, of trading in anti-Muslim stereotypes. But as their attraction grows into something more, they discover that good sex doesn’t always make good bedfellows. Conflicting cultural identities collide in this thornily clever antidote to a “meet-cute” romance. Director Adrienne Campbell-Holt (WP Theater’s What We’re Up Against) returns to WP Theater to direct this bracingly insightful new play by Rehana Lew Mirza.

Rehana Lew Mirza

(Playwright) Rehana Lew Mirza’s play Hatefuck was on the 2017 Kilroy list and has been previously developed by Colt Coeur and WP, as well as Playwrights Horizons, New Group, Ma-Yi, and Primary Stages. Her other plays includes Ladybits (readings: Lark Playwrights Workshop, Local Lab); A People’s Guide to History in the Time of Here and Now (workshops: Primary Stages, PH School, Tisch); Soldier X (productions: Ma-Yi; Brooklyn College; 2015 Kilroy; NYSCA/Lark commission); Neighborhood Watch (NNPN/InterAct commission); Lonely Leela (workshop prod: LPAC); and Barriers (productions: Desipina, Asian American Theater Company). Her musical Bhangin’ It (with collaborators Sam Willmott and Mike Lew) has been workshopped through Project Springboard, Rhinebeck Writers Retreat/3R, Goodspeed, Orchard Project, and at La Jolla Playhouse where she and Mike Lew are Artists-in-Residence. She and Mike also share a Mellon Foundation National Playwright residency administered in partnership with Howlround at Ma-Yi Theater. Additional honors: HBO Access Fellow, Colt Coeur artist residency, Lilly Award (Stacey Mindich “Go Write A Play”), and TCG/New Georges Fellowship. MFA: Columbia University; BFA: NYU Tisch.

Adrienne Campbell-Holt

(Director) Adrienne is the Founding Artistic Director of Colt Coeur and the recipient of the 2018 Lucille Lortel Visionary Director Award. Upcoming: Downstairs by Theresa Rebeck at Primary Stages; world premiere of We are Among Us by Stephen Belber (City Theater). Recent world premieres: Thirst, by C. A. Johnson (Contemporary American Theater Festival), Zürich, by Amelia Roper (Colt Coeur/NYTW), Afterwords, by Zoe Sarnak and Emily Kaczmarek (Village Theater), What We’re Up Against (WP Theater), Empathitrax by Ana Nogueira (Colt Coeur), Cal in Camo by William Francis Hoffman (co-pro Rattlestick & Colt Coeur), Theresa Rebeck’s The Nest (Denver Theatre Company), One Child Born (Oberon at American Repertory Theater), How to Live on Earth by MJ Kaufman (Colt Coeur), Chiara Atik’s 52nd to Bowery (EST Marathon), Dry Land by Ruby Rae Spiegel (Colt Coeur), Greg Moss’ Reunion (South Coast Rep), Everything is Ours by Nikole Beckwith (Colt Coeur), Recall by Eliza Clark (Colt Coeur), Fish Eye (Colt Coeur), and Seven Minutes in Heaven by Steven Levenson (Colt Coeur). Adrienne has developed work with La Jolla Playhouse, Roundabout Theater Company, Playwrights Horizons, Clubbed Thumb, New Georges, Playwrights’ Center, and EST. She is also the director of #makeitfair and the Associate Director on the Broadway production ofDear Evan Hansen. Adrienne also founded and served as Artistic Director of the DUMBO-based The Nest from 2002-2004, which was a 70,000 SF arts warehouse and home to resident artists/companies: Cynthia Hopkins, Koosil-Ja Hwang, Collapsable Giraffe, National Theater of the United States of America, Ugly Duckling Press, Brooklyn Underground Film Festival, and many more. BA Barnard College, Columbia University.

Colt Coeur

(Co-Producer) Colt Coeur is a Brooklyn-based theater company founded in 2010.  Artistic director Adrienne Campbell-Holt leads a 16-member ensemble of actors, playwrights and designers to nurture the next generation of theater artists through the development and production of new plays and by providing arts education to students from underserved NYC public schools. Over 8 years, Colt Coeur has produced 9 world premieres; developed 40 plays; and provided free arts education for over 120 students. All 9 world premiere productions have launched some of the most exciting voices in American Theater today. With Steven Levenson’s Seven Minutes in Heaven; Lucas Kavner’s Fish Eye; Eliza Clark’s Recall; Nikole Beckwith’s Everything is Ours; Ruby Rae Spiegel’s Dry Land; MJ Kaufman’s How to Live on Earth; William Francis Hoffman’s Cal in Camo; Ana Nogueira’s Empathitrax; and Amelia Roper’s Zürich, Colt Coeur has established itself as a home for a new generation of theater artists. In addition to our productions, Colt Coeur serves the community by hosting a free week-long Playmaking workshop for local middle and high school students during their Spring Break. And we have expanded our dedication to underserved creators by establishing the Parity Plays Fest in 2014, presenting four readings of plays from female or trans playwrights and directors. In 2017 we welcomed our first class of Resident writers and directors: Kate Cortesi, Jeremy O. Harris, Rehana Lew Mirza, Danya Taymor, Pirronne Yousefzadeh & Catherine Yu. After presenting our first commissioned play, Zürich, Colt Coeur has also embarked on our second commission with playwright Antoinette Nwandu.

Abingdon Theatre Company

(Co-Producer) Abingdon Theatre Company is dedicated to developing and producing new American work by emerging and established artists. Under the artistic direction of Tony Speciale, the company provides an intimate home where artists can collaborate within a supporting and nurturing environment. Abingdon searches for stories about the human experience that bravely reflect, challenge and celebrate the ever-evolving world in which we live. To date, the company has collaborated with more than 200 playwrights, produced 92 New York and world-premieres, presented more than 700 readings, staged over 175 ten-minute plays, and commissioned 6 one-act plays. Notable artists who have worked at Abingdon include Carl Andress, Bryan Batt, Reed Birney, Anne Bogart and SITI Company, Robert Brustein, Mario Cantone, Jeff Croiter, Maxwell Caulfield, Dick Cavett, Jocelyn Clarke, Philip Dawkins, Eve Ensler, John Epperson, Jane Greenwood, Chisa Hutchinson, Arthur Kopit, James Lecesne, Ralph Macchio, Roberta Maxwell, Charles Mee, Jason O’Connell, Nancy Opel, Austin Pendleton, Sam Pinkleton, Lanie Robertson, Marcia Rodd, Mfoniso Udofia and Michael Weller. Abingdon’s 2014 production of Brian Richard Mori’s Hellman v. McCarthy was filmed and presented by WNET as part of its inaugural Theatre Close Up series. abingdontheatre.org